Ukraine Europol Agreement

The Director of Europol may conclude agreements with other countries and international organisations for Europol. Since September 2017, Europol has been operationally cooperating with Albania, Australia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Denmark, Colombia, Georgia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, northern Macedonia, Norway, Serbia, Switzerland, Ukraine and the United States of America, as well as Interpol. [32] [53] [54] [55] Similarly, the Agency has concluded strategic agreements with Brazil, China, Russia, Turkey, the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) and the World Customs Organization (WCO). [56] [55] [57] Rob Wainwright, Director of Europol, said: “This agreement creates cooperation-based relations between Europol and Ukraine to help EU Member States and Ukraine prevent and combat serious and organised crime, terrorism and other forms of international crime. It will facilitate effective operational cooperation between Europol and Ukrainian law enforcement authorities and make the EU and Ukraine safer.” The signing of the Operational and Strategic Cooperation Agreement brought to an end the successful negotiations between Ukraine and Europol on the effective closure of the forces fighting serious and organised crime. After the entry into force of the agreement, this new level of cooperation will be important to combat priority areas of crime that concern both the European Union and Ukraine, such as drug trafficking, counterfeit goods and illegal immigration. Ukraine and Europol today signed an agreement to strengthen cooperation in the fight against cross-border criminal activities. Ukrainian Interior Minister Arsen Avakov and Europol Director Rob Wainwright today signed an operational and strategic agreement to strengthen cooperation in the fight against cross-border criminal activities. Aware of the urgent problems posed by international organised crime, in particular terrorism, and other serious crimes, the Agreement allows for the exchange of information, including the personal data of suspected criminals, and the joint planning of operational activities.

The text of the cooperation agreement between Europol and Ukraine was approved by the Council of the European Union and supported by the European Parliament and signed in The Hague on 14 December. Denmark was not allowed to participate in the 2016 recast of the Europol Regulation because it had withdrawn from the area of freedom, security and justice. In a referendum held in December 2015, it opposed the transformation of its opt-out into a case-by-case opt-in that would have allowed it to participate in the new regulation and remain a member of Europol. However, Denmark and the European Union agreed on a cooperation agreement in December 2016. The agreement was adopted by the European Parliament and the Danish Parliament on 27 April 2017 and signed on 29 April 2017, two days before Denmark was cut off by the Agency. [30] [31] [32] The European Union Agency for Law Enforcement Cooperation, better known as Europol, formerly Europol`s European Police Office and Drugs Service, is the european Union (EU) law enforcement authority, established in 1998 to handle information on criminal police and serious international organised crime and terrorism through cooperation between the competent authorities of the EU Member States. fight. The Agency shall have no executive powers and its officials shall not be authorised to arrest suspects or act without the prior authorisation of the competent authorities of the Member States. Based in The Hague, it employed 1,065 people in 2016. The Agency`s new 32,000 m2 main building, designed by Frank Wintermans, was inaugurated on 1 July 2011 by Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands in the international area of The Hague, alongside the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) and the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) of Der Eisenhowerlaan 73.

[16] [17] Europol originated from TREVI, a forum for security cooperation set up in 1976 between the Ministers of the Interior and Justice of the European Community. . . .